Honour Roll

Alex de Bruin

Barbershopper of the Year (BOTY)


Awarded to Alex de Bruin

This year was won by Alex de Bruin. The nomination says

Alex de Bruin ??? - Over the interregnum between CD’s and throughout the period of the lockdown, he has almost singlehandedly kept the musical side of the Chorus going. There were the Zoom sessions, the outdoor sessions and the initial back inside sessions. Alex prepared the sessions, provide recordings where necessary and conducted the rehearsals. Finally, whilst he was an applicant for the post of MD, he has accepted the decision to appoint Anne with good grace and has carried on with his work on the Committee and general support to the Chorus .He has also supported Anne during her initial period of familiarisation of the her role with the chorus

Barbershopper of the Year 2021, presented to Alex de Bruin by Crawford Anderson
Other nominees were:-
a) Ian Dent for web-master role for many years
b) Martin Eagles for taking on riser maintenance
c) Peter Leverett for continuing services as Music librarian
d) Pat Perridge as BABS Secretary

Criteria for BOTY

Barbershopper of the Year has very simple rules. Members of the club nominate individuals a few weeks before the AGM. On the evening of the AGM, the final ballot list is given to all members. Whoever receives the most votes wins.

Criteria for The Face Award

The winner is chosen by the Chorus Director for the member who performs the best on the Convention stage.

Roll of honour

Year Barbershopper
of the year
The Face Award
2021 Alex de Bruin no award this year
2020 Alex de Bruin and Phil Paine no award this year
2019 Ken Mills Ed Deacon
2018 Pat Perridge Mike Goddard/ Andrew Yates
2017 Martin Proctor Clive Pugh
2016 Phil Paine Peter Leverett
2015 Phillip Ward Andy Pearce
2014 Ian McDonald Paul Jones
2013 Brian Milbank Mike Taylor
2012 Paul Jones Brian Callaghan


Hall of Fame

Individuals who have provided meritorious service to the Club may be awarded Hall of Fame Membership.

The list is reviewed and amended as necessary at each AGM and the current Hall of Fame Members are as follows:

  • Haydn Adams – Ex-Chorus Manager
  • Liz Croft – Ex-Musical Director
  • Gerry Holland – Founder Member
  • Heather Mills – Services in the Welfare post
  • Ken Mills – Ex-Treasurer, 20+ years
  • Barry Nowell – Ex-Musical Director
  • Rhiannon Owens-Hall – Ex-Musical Director and Coach
  • Peter Powell – Founder Member
  • Tony Searle – Ex-Musical Director
  • Irene Starkie – Ex-Secretarial Services
  • Barry Towner – Long-Distance Coach
  • Sharon Towner – Long-Distance Coach
Brought to you by Making Music
Copyright © 2022 Thames Valley Chorus